Concert Sightings and Brief Thoughts: Gigantour

Gigantour is a concert mega-tour festival organized by none other than Megadeth’s very own Dave Mustaine. It was founded in 2005 and has continued on since with some major bands from many different genres of metal and some high praise, and guess what? I went!

The Lineup:

Megadeth

In Flames

Children of Bodom

Job for a Cowboy

High on Fire

*Bolded ones are the ones I say “Hellyeah, Hellyeah, Hellyeah (THREE TIMES) NUKKA!” when I think aboot (I’m goin’ Canadian) them.

Are you ready? Just click the jump for more.

Tuesday, April 15, 2008 – Dallas, TX – Nokia Theatre at Grand Prairie

Now the only bands that I really cared about on that list are Megadeth and Children of Bodom. In Flames is a good band, I just don’t listen to them much. But even with that said, they are a great live band and perfect for a supporting act considering how bad some can be. I’d rather have had CoD as the band right before Megadeth, just because I would have liked them to have more time, but eh, that doesn’t really matter in the end.

Now generally at concerts, the opening bands are just boring and sound the same, however In Flames and CoB were great and with a little different sound. In regards to the other two, who I hadn’t heard of before, and I STILL haven’t heard of, I really don’t care about.

I got there at 7:15 and CoB was already halfway into their set. WTF. Yeah, the ticket said it started at 5:30, but that always just means doors open at the time and then you have to wait around for an hour to an hour and a half before music starts. They do this to get people to drink more beer, which costs 8 dollars for 24 oz. Needless to say, I don’t even think about it. BEER.

So I was thinking “Yeah, 5:30 for the door opening, warm up bands start at 6:30-7:00, I should have plenty of time to get there and see part of the first band and the other bands from then on. I got there at the end of “Hate Me!” by CoB, which is one of my favorite songs by them. Damn! Kind of pissed me off that I missed most of it. But eh, whatever. They will probably be back through Dallas soon enough with a full set. I just hope they play at a decent venue.

The crowd was surprising yet at the same time the usual. Of course there was the one guy (that I saw at least) that had drunk 5 of the 8 dollar beers. You know this because they walk around with each new beer inside of their empty cup. Not only do you know they wasted 45 dollars (same as the ticket price) on beer, but they are also a douche.

Then you have the 50-60 year old drunk guy that hits on the teenage girls. They always use the line, “I have a daughter that is (age), too!” Damn smooth.

Then you got your Emo (Dave Mustaine says it like “Emu” because of his voice) kids running around in their tight pants. I’m like, “what the hell! metal fans kill other people, not themselves! GTFO.” The surprising thing was that the Emo kids were leading the mosh in the circle pit. It looked like a bunch of chickens fighting in achicken coop! I can’t imagine what a pit at a real Emo show would look like. Circle jerks while cutting? *rimshot*

Oh yeah, I saw one of the stupidest shirts I had ever seen. “Bleeding the Fifth” was written on the back of someone’s shirt. I looked up the origins of it and it’s the first CD of a new band called Divine Heresy. I haven’t heard the music yet but that is the stupidest name I have ever seen. It makes no damn sense.

And… the alot of the crowd was just sitting around. WTF at that.

Music wise, all the bands were great. During Megadeth’s set there were a few technical issues, but it didn’t bother me or anyone else. The mic was kind of drowned out all night though, but that might just be because I was on the left of the stage and didn’t get to hear them well. I don’t care anyway about tech problems or any of that bullshit. I’m there because I like the band and the sound isn’t going to piss me off if the bass is too loud or the mic isn’t loud enough.

Highlights of the evenings were seeing Alexi from CoB shred his guitar live again. Got to see James Lomenzo in Megadeth again — he has played with a lot of Zakk Wylde’s projects through the years and is a great guy. I’m glad he is doing well, he looked like he was happy as hell and his playing was great too.

And of course, Dave Mustaine. I’m a big thrash metal fan if you haven’t discovered this already and he has been with it since all the way to Metallica’s first album and a half. I might joke a lot about his voice or what not, but I love his work on everything he’s done. Great stuff… but he still is a mix between Anne Nicole Smith, a kid with Down Syndrome and Spicoli (from Fast Times at Ridgemont High).

If you want to know anything else about the concert, just watch:

It basically covers everything. Here’s some setlists from the show I attended.

Children of Bodom’s Setlist

01. Six Pounder
02. Living Dead Beat
03. In Your Face
04. Hate Me!
05. Hellhounds on My Trail
06. Angels Don’t Kill
07. Blooddrunk
08. Downfall

Megadeth’s Setlist
01. Sleepwalker
02. Wake Up Dead
03. Take No Prisoners
04. Skin O’ My Teeth
05. Washington Is Next
06. Gears of War
07. Kick the Chair
08. In My Darkest Hour
09. Hangar 18
10. Ashes in Your Mouth
11. Burnt Ice
12. Trust
13. Tornado of Souls
14. Symphony of Destruction
15. Peace Sells

Not bad.

The show was awesome and I really recommend you guys check out Gigantour next time it tours in your area. The official site has tour dates and other information you might want to know.

One Response to “Concert Sightings and Brief Thoughts: Gigantour”

  1. Destruction-Overdrive Says:

    “metal fans kill other people, not themselves! GTFO”

    HAHA, epic.

    I seen Megadeth a few months back with down and heaven and hell. and im going to this too. its coming around here soon. cant wait.

    I also caught BLS last march. They kicked ass. Zakk played this solo note for note that Randy Rhoads played on a Live CD.

    brian posehn

Leave a Reply

